Seven students from the Union Middle School Band program were chosen to participate in the NEIBA Honor Band held at Oelwein High School on Saturday, December 1st, 2018.  Students chosen for honor band were Miya Uchiyama-Hansen, eighth grade daughter of Steve and Yumiko Uchiyama-Hansen of LaPorte City, Amy Caughron, eighth grade daughter of Jeff Paine of LaPorte City, Samuel Klein, eighth grade son of Shane and Sara Klein of LaPorte City, Matthew Carlson, eighth grade son of Reid and Steph Carlson of LaPorte City, Zak Reed, eighth grade son of Scott and Jennifer Reed of LaPorte City, Tobias Hopkins, eighth grade son of Kyle Hopkins of Dysart, and Joseph Bistline, eighth grade son of Michael and Jennifer Bistline of LaPorte City.

Students were chosen from 68 participating schools in the northeast district of Iowa and two bands of 130 players were formed of highly qualified middle school musicians.  Musicians rehearsed all day Saturday, December 1st and presented their concert at 5:00 PM at the Oelwein High School gymnasium.  The two bands were under the direction of Ms. Jeana Larson from Sheldon Community Schools, and Mr. Nathan Sletten from the Lake Mills Community School District.

UMS band members post with insturments